Available on-demand

Webinar
22.01.2024

Understanding and managing flood risk uncertainty

Tuesday 20th February, 16:00 – 17:00 GMT / 11:00 – 12:00 EST / 10:00 – 11:00 CT

Decoding flood risk data for better decision-making capabilities

Flood modeling is inherently multifaceted, involving various subjective judgments and objective data variables. Whilst uncertainty exists, it doesn’t have to be a barrier to effective risk management.

Through good communication, education and transparency around the data that is being consumed, model users can begin to navigate the intrinsic complexities involved in flood data and make informed decisions around their book of business.

Join our expert panel to learn about the uncertainties inherent in flood risk data and models and discover tips and tools that will help you make better flood risk management decisions – including Metadata – a newly released set of data from Fathom. Topics discussed will include:

  • Dominant sources of uncertainty in flood hazard maps
  • Tools and techniques for understanding uncertainty
  • Practical ways of managing such uncertainty
  • Ways of increasing confidence in underlying data and models

Understanding and managing flood risk uncertainty

play
Uncertainty webinar thumbnail

Read more about Fathom’s approach to uncertainty in our latest insight.

Speakers
Guest
Tom Philp
Dr Tom Philp CEO, Maximum Information LinkedIn
Guest
Rob Porter Head of Product, Vave LinkedIn
Dr Oliver Wing, Chief Research Officer, Fathom
Oliver Wing Chief Research Officer Visit company profile
Matthew Jones Chief Product Officer Visit company profile